Ending the Ebola Outbreak

I was recently reading the online version of the New York Times when I came across an article about the ending of the Ebola outbreak. I had to think back to when I had last heard about the Ebola outbreak, because it had been a while since I’ve heard anything about it. If you recall back in October I wrote a post on Ebola and it entering the United States. The article intrigued me a lot for two reasons. One, I hadn’t heard much about it in the news or on any social media, unlike last fall, when it was everywhere and you heard new updates every day. And two, because when it was spreading quickly in the fall and everyone was super freaked out about it, nobody thought It’d actually end.

In the past 15 months, the outbreak had claimed more than 10,000 lies and has affected so many more. On Wednesday The World Health Organization said that with the support of international finances, the crisis could be stopped by summer. But doctor Bruce Aylward, the leader of the organizations response, says that the only way we could do that is by reinvesting and reinvigorating the program.

When the epidemic first hit, the most hard hit countries were in West Africa. Now, Sierra Leone is the only country that has reported any new cases in the past 10 days. The rate has fallen a lot since the beginning, and has been reporting about 100 to 150 cases each week, for awhile now. The United Nations needs 400 million by the end of June to help pull this off.

When Ebola was first big in the news, it was scary to a lot of people and it threated many lives, and the well being of countries, mostly those in West Africa. When it came to the United States, even more people got paranoid. I wasn’t one of those people, I was more worried about the epidemic in West Africa, because I knew that if they couldn’t get it under control there then we had a major, MAJOR issue on our hands. When I finally read this article, it gave me a lot of hope that the organization could pull this off.

Leave a comment